Christmas Reflections: Suksan wan Krismat! ສຸກສັນວັນຄຣິສມາດ

-by Gloria Kristianti, YAMEN! participant

ໂດຍ: ກລໍເຣຍ ກຣິສຕານາ ຈາກໂຄງການ YAMEN

I liked having Christmas experiences in Laos. I joined with the choir at Naxay Church. It is an evangelical church in Vientiane, Laos where I worship every week. The first time when someone from church asked me to joined with choir, I was not really confident because they sang in Lao language and the songs were written in Lao letters. Then, Ellen (one of the SALTers) encouraged me to joined choir and we wrote in “karaoke” or alphabet. That was better. But, my challenge didn’t  stop here. I also can’t sing with block notes because I usually used number notes in Indonesia. I just listened to what song sounded like and I understood. So, we sang about 5 songs and I read all in karaoke. This is the power of listening and trying.

ຂ້ອຍມັກການສະຫຼອງວັນຄຣິສມາດຢູ່ປະເທດລາວຫຼາຍ. ຂ້ອຍໄດ້ເຂົ້າຮ່ວມກັບຮ້ອງເພງປະສານສຽງທີ່ໂບດນາໄຊ. ເຊິ່ງເປັນໂບດຂ່າວປະເສີດແຫ່ງໜຶ່ງໃນວຽງຈັນ ປະເທດລາວ ເຊິ່ງເປັນສະຖານທີ່ຂ້ອຍໄດ້ໄປນະມັດສະການທຸກໆອາທິດ. ຕອນທຳອິດທີ່ມີຄົນມາຊວນໃຫ້ໄປຮ້ອງເພງຮ່ວມກັນນັ້ນ ຂ້ອຍຮູ້ສຶກບໍ່ມີຄວາມໝັ້ນໃຈເລີຍ ເພາະເຂົາເຈົ້າຮ້ອງເປັນພາສາລາວ ແລະ ເນື້ອເພງກໍ່ຍັງຂຽນເປັນພາສາລາວຕື່ມອີກ. ຂະນະນັ້ນ ນາງ ແອເລິນ (ເຊິ່ງເປັນສະມາຊິກຜູ້ໜຶ່ງຈາກໂຄງການ SALT) ກໍ່ໄດ້ລະດົມໃຫ້ຂ້ອຍເຂົ້າຮ່ວມກັບພວກເຂົາ ແລະ ພວກເຮົາກໍ່ໄດ້ຂຽນເນື້ອເພງເປັນພາສາຄາຣາໂອເກະ ເຊິ່ງມັນກໍ່ຊ່ວຍໃຫ້ງ່າຍຂຶ້ນຫຼາຍ ແຕ່ວ່າອຸປະສັກຂອງຂ້ອຍຍັງບໍ່ໝົດພຽງແຕ່ເທົ່ານັ້ນ ຂ້ອຍຍັງບໍ່ສາມາດຮ້ອງໄປຕາມບັນທຶກໂນດເພງຂອງເຂົາເຈົ້າ ເພາະຂ້ອຍມັກຈະຫຼົງກັນກັບນ້ຳເບີໂນດຂອງອິນໂດເນເຊຍ. ຂ້ອຍໄດ້ແຕ່ຟັງວ່າທຳນອງເພງແມ່ນແນວໃດ ແລະ ກໍ່ສາມາດເຂົ້າໃຈໄດ້. ພວກເຮົາຮ້ອງປະມານ 5 ເພງ ແລະ ຂ້ອຍກໍ່ຮ້ອງເພງເຫຼົ່ານັ້ນໃນພາສາຄາຣາໂອເກະທັງໝົດ. ນີ້ຄືຄວາມສຳເລັດຂອງການຟັງ ແລະ ຄວາມພະຍາຍາມ.

994444_375183279322046_3316064427091826129_n

The Naxay Church choir sings during Christmas eve celebrations. YAMENer Gloria Kristianti seen front row, fourth from the left; also SALTer Ellen Roth seen middle row, second from the left. Photo via Bird Jittaphong ທີ່ໂບດນາໄຊໄດ້ມີການຮ້ອງເພງປະສານກັນໃນມື້ກ່ອນໜ້າວັນຄຣິສມາດ. ນາງ ກລໍເຣຍ ກຣິສຕານາ ແມ່ນຜູ້ທີ່4ແຖວໜ້ານັບຈາກຊ້າຍມື ແລະ ຜູ້ທີ່2ຂອງແຖວກາງນັບຈາກຊ້າຍເຊັ່ນກັນແມ່ນ ນາງແອເລິນ ພາບຖ່າຍໂດຍ ເບີດ ຈິດຕະພົງ

 

I didn’t celebrate Christmas both Christmas eve and Christmas day with my host family. My host family went to a funeral because their second Mom passed away on December 24, 2014. That was a sorrow for me and my host family. But then I knew some people from Naxay Church and we have had nice conversation about life and spirituality. I really have interested with two ladies who sang in the Christmas choir with me. We didn’t know each other before but then they were so kind and gave me a Christmas gift. That’s made me felt accepted.

ຂ້ອຍບໍ່ໄດ້ມີໂອກາດສະຫຼອງວັນຄຣິສມາດທັງສອງມື້ກ່ອນແລະມື້ແທ້ນັ້ນກັບພໍ່ຮັກແມ່ຮັກຂອງຂ້ອເລີຍ ເພາະວ່າ ເພີ່ນພາກັນໄປງານສົ່ງສະການແມ່ເຖົ້າຂອງເຂົາເຈົ້າທີ່ເສຍຊີວິດໃນວັນທີ່ 24 ເດືອນທັນວາ 2014 ນີ້ເອງ ເຊິ່ງເປັນເລື່ອງເສົ້າສຳລັບຂ້ອຍ ແລະ ຄອບຄົວພໍ່ແມ່ຮັກຂອງຂ້ອຍ. ແຕ່ພາຍຫຼັງທີ່ຂ້ອຍໄດ້ຮູ້ຈັກກັບຄົນຈາກໂບດນາໄຊ ແລະ ພວກເຮົາກໍ່ໄດ້ມີການສົນທະນາກັນທີ່ດີຫຼາຍກ່ຽວກັບຊີວິດ ແລະ ຈິດວິນຍານ. ຂ້ອຍມີຄວາມສົນໃນຫຼາຍຕໍ່ກັບແມ່ຍິງສອງຄົນທີ່ຮ້ອງເພງຮ່ວມກັນໃນມື້ນັ້ນ, ພວກເຮົາບໍ່ໄດ້ຮູ້ຈັກກັນມາກ່ອນ ແຕ່ເຂົາເຈົ້າກໍ່ໃຈດີຫຼາຍ ແລະ ໄດ້ໃຫ້ຂອງຂັວນວັນຄຣິສມາດແກ່ຂ້ອຍ ເຊິ່ງນັ້ນເອງໄດ້ເຮັດໃຫ້ຂ້ອຍຮູ້ສຶກວ່າໄດ້ຮັບການຍອມຮັບແລ້ວ

1 Comment

Filed under Lao Culture, Learning, SALT/YAMEN!/IVEP

One response to “Christmas Reflections: Suksan wan Krismat! ສຸກສັນວັນຄຣິສມາດ

  1. Pam

    Wow….this is so nice to see Lao Young Generation joining the choir & singing Christmas songs – Celebrating Jesus Birthday in our Laos Country….so very nice indeed….Hoping some day…God’s houses will be multiply in Laos Country….Many Blessing to all Lao-Ni and Lao-Norg (Lao Refugees via across the world (Canada, U.S.A., France, Germany…)….Thank you so much for MCC Programs such as SALT/ IVEP/ YAMEN/…..Bringing and exchanging between Cultural….Giving the Opportunity for Lao Younger Generation – the Freedom to LEARN outside the Box.

Leave a comment